Row Wrapper 2

176 - Bercot Beach Cottage

4.4714
(70 Reviews)

Capacity

3 Bedrooms
2 Bath
Sleeps 8

Search Availability

About

Escape the city to savor this peaceful oasis. Wake up in a sunny master bedroom with its own egress to a waterfront deck and bask in sunrise views over Holmes Harbor. Watch the eagles play in the tree tops and fish in this island estuary. Spend your day playing in the spacious yard and beach combing the tidelands while capturing precious family memories. This unique and well placed home charms visitors with scenery and function. Bring family or friends and utilize the separate and private downstairs (outdoor entrance only) complete with bathroom and partial kitchen with accommodations for two. Nearby activities include public beaches, parks, golf, and shopping within walking distance. 7 night minimum in July/August

Availability

Key
#Night Available#Night Unavailable#Arrive Only#Depart Only
August 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
September 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
October 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
November 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
December 2019
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
January 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
February 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
March 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
April 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
May 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 
June 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
 
July 2020
SuMoTuWeThFrSa
 1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
 

Rates

DatesNightlyWeekly
08/18/19 - 08/22/19$225
08/25/19 - 08/29/19$225
09/01/19 - 09/02/19$225
07/01/19 - 09/02/19$225$1,575
09/03/19 - 09/05/19$185
09/03/19 - 09/30/19$185$1,110
09/08/19 - 09/12/19$185
09/15/19 - 09/19/19$185
09/22/19 - 09/26/19$185
09/29/19 - 09/30/19$185
10/01/19 - 10/03/19$150
10/01/19 - 10/31/19$150$900
10/06/19 - 10/10/19$150
10/13/19 - 10/17/19$150
10/20/19 - 10/24/19$150
10/27/19 - 10/31/19$150
11/03/19 - 11/07/19$150
11/10/19 - 11/14/19$150
11/17/19 - 11/21/19$150
11/24/19 - 11/26/19$150
11/01/19 - 11/26/19$150$900
11/27/19 - 12/01/19$160
12/02/19 - 12/05/19$150
12/02/19 - 12/19/19$150$900
12/08/19 - 12/12/19$150
12/15/19 - 12/19/19$150
12/22/19 - 12/26/19$160
12/29/19 - 01/01/20$160
12/20/19 - 01/01/20$160$960
01/02/20 - 01/02/20$150
01/02/20 - 03/12/20$150$900
01/05/20 - 01/09/20$150
01/12/20 - 01/16/20$150
01/19/20 - 01/23/20$150
01/26/20 - 01/30/20$150
02/02/20 - 02/06/20$150
02/09/20 - 02/13/20$150
02/16/20 - 02/20/20$150
02/23/20 - 02/27/20$150
03/01/20 - 03/05/20$150
03/08/20 - 03/12/20$150

Map

Reviews

Leave a Review

Beautiful area

April 2019
, Sunnyside, WA US

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

great time; husband disabled home hard to access for him. but we managed.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you had a "great time" on Whidbey Island. We hope we can help you with your next stay on the Island.

This "Shore" is a good place

December 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Being so close to the water was cool, although our early December visit made it too cold to enjoy the deck. We did, however, make good use of the wood stove. The location was a 5-star and our stay was relaxing and enjoyable.

Manager's Response

Thank you for you comments. The are happy you stayed warm and had an enjoyable stay on Whidbey Island. We hodpe we can help you with your next stay on the Island.

Pleasant spot, good for travel with babies

September 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
3

We had a pleasant stay at Bercot Beach. We traveled with 4 adults and an 11-month-old baby. The set up of this cottage was good for travel with a baby. Baby was able to nap in a pack-n-play in the lower apartment, while adults continued their visits and activities upstairs without sound interruption for the little one. This is a good home base for exploring South Whidbey. The property felt a little dated/rough around the edges, but the set-up was very practical for our stay. It is a bit close to the neighbors, and there was a lot of noise from a family next door in the evenings. The beds in the basement could use new mattresses -- definitely not a comfortable sleep for us. The deck is lovely and looks out over the water. We enjoyed our meals with the lovely view. The apple tree was heavy with fruit during our stay and often dropped apples on the roof - once we got used to it, it didn't bother us but was a bit surprising at first!

On the beach

August 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
2

Great location. House is a bit tired. Needs new carpet and some other sprucing up. Downstairs is not connected to upstairs and ceilings are very low.

Bercot beach vacation

July 2018
, Cotati, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
3

Overall a great vacation rental for our multi generational family vacation. plenty of room,the front deck was the perfect place for afternoon cocktails and dinner. We loved being on the water and watching bald eagles flying overhead. The property could use a deep clean: Thorough dusting, washing down of light switches and door frames. cleaning under the beds,stove. A few of the bar chairs and living room coffee table need to have bolts tightened to be stable. Kitchen could use small bowls,replacement frying pans (teflon scrapped and peeling). Attention to these details would be a great asset to this property.

Manager's Response

So happy to hear your family had a great vacation! There is nothing like watching bald eagles soaring over head! Nature at it's best! Our properties do get a deep clean at the end of the peak season, which is at the end of September. Our high season is June through September and there is a good cleaning in between each guests.
We will contact the owners regarding bowls and frying pans, and thank you for letting us know about bar chairs and living room coffee table!
Thank you for your review.
We can help you with your next stay on the Island!

Relaxing get away

June 2018
, Langley, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

Rental was right on the water and very beautiful surroundings. Definitely would go back.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We hope to see you back on Whidbey Island and assist you with your stay.

Peaceful Setting on Holmes Harbor

June 2018
, escondido, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

This comfy cottage at the water's edge was clean and equipped with all you need for a pleasant stay. We spent most of our time at the property on the deck enjoying water fowl, deer, the changing sky, and the quiet.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed your stay on Whidbey Island and hope to help you with your next stay on the Island.

A beautiful view!

June 2018
, Chehalis, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

This home had a view that was spectacular and the water access made it easy for us to take our inflatable boats out. The location is just a couple minutes off the highway so it's really convenient to go exploring places or to make a quick run to the nearby store for forgotten items! The inside was homey and relaxing. It was nice to have the privacy of two separate sleeping spaces as the downstairs can only be accessed outside.

A couple of easy things that could be done to improve one's stay...The shower head is horrific and only sprays one very hard stream of water. Also, there is only one key given for each floor when it seems both parties should be able to have access to the living space on the top floor. We somehow managed to get locked out of the downstairs and someone from Tara Property Management came out to help in just a few minutes which was appreciated!

Overall, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend this vacation cottage.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy your enjoyed your stay on "homey and relaxing" Whidbey Island. We appreciate your suggestions and will pass them on to the property owner. Please let us help you with your next stay "spectacular" stay on Whidbey Island.

Wedding weekend

June 2018
, Lake Stevens, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Beautiful views and great location. We had some really tall guests so be aware that the downstairs sleeping areas have a very low ceiling but over all this was a great place to stay.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay on Whidbey Island, please let us help you with your next stay on the Island.

Bercot road

June 2018
, Blaine, WA United States

Overall
3
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

Very comfortable but had some problems in basement with bathroom. Tara was quick to respond. Also youth beds in basement small for adults and with memory foam on mattress, a bit too soft. View and deck amazing.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy your overall experience was a good one and hope you help your with your next stay on Whidbey.

Delightful Stay at Beautiful Waterfront Property

April 2018
, Camano island, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
3

We were extremely pleased to walk into this home on the beach for our family reunion, with family visiting from New Zealand. What a great location to day hikes, Greenbank Farms, and whale watching in Langley, as well as grocery stores. We found this property very comfortable for our party of 7. My elderly parents especially liked the big picture windows to watch the sun come up and set, with all the bird activity. We did not visit any restaurants in the area because we had everything needed for our family celebration in the stunning location. We hope to return again someday and will definitely recommend Bercot Cottage to friends.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review! We are so happy to hear this vacation home met all your needs and that you had a great family reunion here on Whidbey Island.

Nice spot!

April 2018
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Our book club really enjoyed our two nights here. While booking I didn't really comprehend that you have to go outside in order to get to the lower level beds (even though it's perfectly clear on re-reading!), but those who stayed down there were totally happy with their spacious private area. The house is very comfortable and clean. We enjoyed walking up the not-busy road past the holly farm, and wandered farther afield to hike at Ebey's Landing and the Earth Sanctuary. The big grocery in Freeland was convenient. Great weekend!

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review. We're happy to hear your book club had a great time. There are many things to do on Whidbey Island so it's nice to hear your group was able to take advantage of some of them.

Bringing in the year at the beach.

January 2018
, Toledo, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The house was clean and the beds were wonderful. It was quiet and calm. We enjoyed the fireworks that could be seen over the hill. Our grandsons loved it and want to do it again.

Manager's Response

Thank you for you comments. We are happy your grandsons "loved" their stay on the Island and hope we can help with your next stay on Whidbey.

Spectacular Getaway

October 2017
, Anchorage, AK United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Fabulous sunrise and sunsets. Breathtaking water views with a cozy summer cottage home.Close to a quaint ,friendly little town with good restaurants and shopping close by.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you enjoyed the view and environment of Whidbey Island. We hope to help you with your next stay on the Island.

Great Weekend!!

October 2017

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

The house was very comfortable and had enough space for our group of 8 to feel that we were not crowded.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you were "very comfortable" in the house with eight people! We hope we can help you with your next stay on Whidbey Island.

Enjoyed the Stay!

August 2017

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

My daughter, grandson, granddaughter and I enjoyed the stay. Nice view of the water and morning sunshine. Nice cabinet of games. Kitchen has everything you need. Beds are comfortable. Has WiFi. TV w/DVD.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review. We are happy you "enjoyed" your stay on Whidbey Island. We hope we can help you with your next vacation on the Island.

bercot beach house

July 2017
, Freeland, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

They liked the house generally. The ceilings downstairs were low for tall people. The steps from the driveway need to have a railing for older and handicapped folks.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments. We are happy you "liked' your accommodations on Whidbey Island, we hope we can help you with your next vacation on the Island.

Perfect Beach Cottage Getaway

August 2017
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

This cottage had everything I was looking for. Beautiful location on the water with a patio for the whole family to enjoy, clean and comfortable bedding, great location close to wineries and any sort of outdoor activity. Perfect for an extended weekend trip to enjoy the WA sun.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments, We are happy it was a "perfect" location for and "extended weekend". We hope we can help you with your next vacation on Whidbey Island.

Fun days at the beach.

August 2017
, port angeles, wa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

We thoroughly enjoyed our time on Whidbey Island. We went crabbing and clamming and enjoyed the sun and the beach. The unit is right on Holmes Harbor and the view of sunrise is spectacular. The unit is just a short drive to Freeland for grocery shopping etc. The bed was comfortable and the kitchen was well stocked. The only drawback was the dirty carpet. Vinyl throughout would make the place easier to keep clean and sanitary. Thank you for a fun holiday!

Manager's Response

Thank you for your comments, We are happy you "enjoyed" your stay on Whidbey Island and we hope we can help you with your next vacation on the Island.

Great fun on the beach

June 2017
, Austin, TX United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a great stay at the Beach Cottage. Our 3 year old loved playing on the beach at low tide and finding clams, crabs and other sand creatures. We went to a wedding nearby and it was a perfect location. We loved going for walks to the park just across the bay and watching eagles, seals etc cruise around. We never used the downstairs part.

Manager's Response

We're so glad you had such a great time! I'm sure your three year old had a great time exploring. We hope you'll come back soon!

Perfect Getaway

April 2017
, Washington, DC United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Being that I was born and raised on Whidbey about 5 minutes from this house, I have to say that it was like being in a completely different place. The house is spacious and the views are incredible. Make sure to use the outside fire pit to truly capture the beauty of Holmes Harbor!

Manager's Response

We're so glad that you enjoyed your time here! Thank you for your review!

Great Ladies Weekend

March 2017
, Bellingham, Washington United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

What a great stay! Views were beautiful, kitchen was well stocked (though bring your own knives if you're a knife snob like me), beds were great. Very quiet neighborhood, felt very safe, easy access to house. Thank you! House was layout was open and great for the 5 of us.

Manager's Response

Thanks for your review! We're so glad that the home met your needs and that you enjoyed your stay.

Christmas season rental

December 2016
, Pittsburgh, PA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We had 6 adults and 3 small children. The space was very good for us... nicely appointed and well stocked for meals at home. We could have used more lamps upstairs and down and more out door lighting as we arrived at check-in which is dark in winter and the back stairs could be better lit. We found several good day trips and restaurants near by. Overall a very good rental experience. Thank you!

Manager's Response

Nice to hear you had a great time. We have many restaurants, sight seeing day trips and views all that are great on Whidbey Island. Thanks for your review.

Great Location!

December 2016
, Moorpark, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

The location is spectacular. The management staff was attentive and timely - and bent over backwards to ensure that our stay was fabulous -- and it was!!! This is a perfect place if you're more interested in location and comfort than you are in being pampered in elegance; it's not that. It's a well-loved property (in spirit of the children's book "The Velveteen Rabbit"). The kitchen isn't very organized, the furniture is not showroom quality, and in places, the floor seems to lean. The downstairs might be good for kids but is not comfortable for adults due to low doorways and a crossbeam that could knock you out if you hit it squarely. And somewhat unpredictably, the drummer immediately next door could launch into drum practice, which absolutely can kill the mood if you're trying to enjoy the deck. But ... the place is in a drop-dead location on the water, and the views from inside and outside the rental are to die for. And that was at Christmastime! We had a fantastic time and bet you will, as well, as long as you're aware of what to expect. Enjoy!

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review

Cute cuddly cottage...

October 2016
, Damascus, Oregon United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

The view is outstanding and the house easy to find. We had a very nice time.

Manager's Response

thanks for your review

Cozy, sweet getawsy

August 2016
, Seattle, Wa United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
3

Kids and mom for 4 days to explore Whidbey

Manager's Response

Thanks for your review. Happy to hear you were able to explore beautiful Whidbey Island and have a fun time.

Awesome vacatin rental. Beautiful view!

June 2016

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We really liked staying at this property. The only complaint I would have would be the fact that it is not in the description (I'll have to go back and check, though) that the third bedroom/second bathroom is only accessible from the outside and not from say, an inside staircase from the main floor. This was only a problem because we had a toddler (who knows how to unlock doors) staying downstairs and his parents wanted to spend some adult time upstairs with the rest of us. A baby camera/monitor was used and all was good. I just wish we would have known that originally. That was my absolute only complaint. The rest of the stay was brilliant. The view was amazing, the beds were really comfortable and the kitchen was really well stocked. Thank you to the Meyer family and to Tara Property Management!

Manager's Response

We're so glad you liked the property! I did check the description and we do emphasize that the basement is "separate and private", but hopefully your review will help future guests understand that there is indeed a separate entrance to this part of the house. Thank you for your review!

Stay at 176 Bercot Beach Cottage 5213 May 26 - 30, 2016

May 2016
, Courtland, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
1

The management company was GREAT to work with and went out their way to was my sons birthday & I wanted to bake a cake, Tara Property Manag. check on pans in the rental!Location of rental was wonderful, peaceful and great views.Great grocery stores and prices were not any different from Seattle.That is why I gave our overall stay 5 for the condition of the rental,it need some work.The house it self is fine but 1 of the sofas in the living room needs to be replaced BADLY.When you sit on it you are almost sitting on the floor.Actually sitting on the floor was more comfortable.This made for a problem since we had 8 people and were very short on sitting room.The bar stools do not feel safe to sit on.When my 9 year granddaughter sat on the bar stool it wobbled(all the joins are very loose)and we had her get off and no one used them the whole weekend.The beds had some kind of mattress covers on them that made all of us sweat and the weather was cool when we were there.We are from the Sacramento valley so we are use to VERY warm weather.When we were there the air temp. felt very cool to us so really no reason to be so warm in bed at night.The house could also use some regular drinking glass.They had a lot of wine glass but very few glass.I marked Yes on the "recommend property to a friend" hoping that the above comments were address.I would go back BUT ONLY if above comment were taken care of.

Manager's Response

We are so sorry about the couch and the stools. We will definitely have maintenance go take care of those. We hope you were still able to enjoy your stay! We will add some more drinking glasses as well! Thank you for your review!

Girls reunion weekend/wedding

June 2016
, Fayetteville, AR United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

I was very pleased with the house. The location was great for us, very close to town and Dancing Fish Farms. The view from the deck is beautiful, beach access is very close from the back deck. The house had everything we needed and more. The only negative was the downstairs bedroom and bathroom only has access from an outside door under the deck, you can't get to it from the main level inside of the house. I would definitely rent this house again if I was in traveling to this area.

Manager's Response

We are so glad you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review!

Excellent stay

May 2016
, Santa Maria, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
4
Property condition
4

We had a great time, Tara was a pleasure to work with

Manager's Response

Glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for your review.

Quaint getaway spot

April 2016
, Long Island City, NY United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
3

Stayed for a weekend with my mom and friend, and we found the cottage to be a nice getaway spot for a few days. Lovely view of the water and nice area surrounding the house -- private even though it's in a neighborhood.

The inside looks exactly like the pictures -- a bit dated and wanting a few updates, but still cozy. We ended up only using the upstairs area (2 bedrooms, 1 bath) because we didn't realize the downstairs wasn't connected (i.e. it's a separate apartment-type space with an outside entrance under the back deck - missed that in the property description). Also worth mentioning we're all fairly tall (5'11) and the downstairs ceiling was uncomfortably low. It would be great for kids in the summer, but didn't make sense for 3 tall grown-ups during rainy weather.

A few notes for guests: It's an older house, so there is a general lack of plugs in convenient places (i.e. to make room for a phone charger I unplugged something in the bedroom thinking it was a lamp, and realized later I had unplugged the internet...). They did provide a power strip which was a big help! There are puzzles and games to amuse, as well as some DVDs & VHS tapes, but the TV/stereo situation is limited (i.e. it's an older TV without HDMI hook-up, stereo has only one working speaker).

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review! We have checked the house description to make sure that the separate basement is clearly explained so it won't inconvenience guests in the future. Thank you for bringing that to our attention. We are sorry for any other inconveniences and will look into taking care of those! Thanks again!

Great Island Getaway

April 2016
, Coatesville, PA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

First of all - the view! It makes the whole experience special. The house was comfortable, conveniently located on the island and had all the necessities.
We watched seals in the harbor and were able to make use of the lovely deck even tho it was early in the season. While there were a few small issues of lighting or things mentioned in other reviews, we enjoyed our stay and would recommend the house.

Manager's Response

Isn't the view great? :) We're glad you enjoyed your stay, and we're sorry for any inconvenience. We appreciate your review!

Bercot Beach Cottage

March 2016
, AUSTIN, TX-Texas United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a lovely time at this house. The view is amazing-we often saw seals & the resident. The property managers thoughtfully left us a message checking on us when storms were forecasted. Accessing the downstairs part of the house is a little challenging during inclement weather or at night as there is no lighting. The main floor bedrooms/living room/kitchen are terrific.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review! We are so sorry for any inconvenience caused by the lighting. Glad you enjoyed your stay!

A great place for family gathering

December 2015
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Our family gathered at this house on Christmas Day and we had a regular holiday meal including turkey and evrything we used to have at our home. One night we turned off all lights and enjoyed beautiful moon casting its light on the water.
I give 4 stars because the lighting in the living room and bedrooms seemed to be poor. Hard to read books at night in the living room . Overall we had a wonderful family time.

Manager's Response

We want to thank you for your very positive feedback.
We will work on the lighting.

Special place....

September 2015
, Napa, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

My husband & I traveled with friends of 30 years to stay on Whidbey Island. We had stayed at Bercot Cottage twice before & our friends decided to try it also. We were not disappointed. Clean,wonderful location, & comfortable. We recommend this property.

Bercot Beach Cottage

September 2015
, Seattle , Wa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

The rental was perfect to put up family members during our wedding. It was well kept inside the house and everything went smoothly during the stay. Thank you for a great and memorable experience!

Great vacation home!

August 2015
, Kirkland, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
3

House was just as described, spacious and well equipped. The beach is not right off the yard as the pictures make it look, it is down stone steps and then a drop to the rock beach. Big retaining wall with plants, so people with children can't really see them unless you are right down on the water.

Family get together for my husband's retirement

August 2015
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

This house was perfect for our family of 6 and 2 toddlers to comfortably spend time together for a week honoring my husband's retirement. We each took a turn cooking and mostly had meals on the deck. Made a fire in a pit, sang songs, played games and stargazed at night. What a memory we created.
The reason I gave 4 stars on the condition, was that the master bed was a bit too soft and squeaky. It's a beautiful property and I highly recommend this place to others.

Seattle Vacation/Wedding

July 2015

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Overall it was a wonderful experience!! We thoroughly enjoyed the area. The unit was in need of some updating but overall it served our needs well as family gathered there for a family reunion. The screen was worn and torn, but overall the unit had everything we needed. The lower apartment was quaint although the shower was quite low for our tall children. The carpet was in need of a cleaning. We found all of the cookware more than adequate for cooking as we did most of our own cooking.

Manager's Response

Thank you for your review! The carpet can take quite a beating during our peak summer months and it was cleaned as soon as we had a break in rentals at the end of the season. It looks beautiful again :) Our apologies to this guest that the carpet was in need of cleaning for their stay. Thank you again!

Nice place but...

June 2015
, Lynnwood, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
3

Nice place, great view. Patio needs a bigger BBQ, also downstairs bedroom ceiling too short for a person over 6 feet tall to walk in. Place needs some improvements and upgrades though.

Nice, clean home!

March 2015
, Yucaipa, California United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

At the last minute, we changed our plans from the hotel we were staying in, to this home. Tara Property Management was able to help us quickly with the rental with ease and professionalism. The home was very clean and accommodating. Please note, that there is no TV service; there is only a DVD/video player. (I didn't notice that part in the description.) Everything was great except the beds are not the best. If they would put a simply topper on them, it would help. However, the pull-out couch was the MOST comfortable one that I've ever seen!

Family Weekend on Whidbey

December 2014
, Coeur D Alene, ID United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Our 28 year old son wanted to start a new family tradition so myself, my husband, our 18 and 28 year old sons booked this house for the weekend after Christmas. We drove in and stopped to see Deception pass, Coupeville and Fort Edbey before arriving at the rental. The pictures and description did not do this house justice. It has an amazing view and is in a perfect location. We loved the house and couldn't ask for anything more. It cleared up on Saturday and we were able to sit on the deck and enjoy the sun and beautiful setting. The house was perfect for our weekend with plenty of kitchen supplies and the bed in the master bedroom is amazing. We had a great time playing games, talking and just hanging out staring at the beautiful water, we kept the shades/blinds open the entire trip. Our son has friends that have a private beach so we were able to go clamming and cook some wonderful meals. We would recommend this to everyone and hope to be able to come back soon.

Beautiful Harbor Property

September 2014
, Seatlle, Wa United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
3
Location
4
Property condition
3

We enjoyed our stay at the property. The backyard stretches all the way down to the stairs that lead to the water. The deck spans the width of the house.

The house is cozy and a bit dated. The finishes are average and the kitchen does not include a dishwasher. The bedroom that faces the water is bright and airy, but the other bedroom is dark. There is only one bathroom upstairs. There is an additional room and bathroom downstairs, but it must be accessed by a separate, outdoor entrance.

Our experience was good, overall. However, there were a few negatives:
1. We found a small amount of blood on the sheets in the second bedroom.
2. There are noisy neighbors immediately to the south who subjected us to verbal abuse towards his dog and his children. He also plays the drums.
3. Pictures indicate that there is a fire pit on the deck. It is no longer there and we brought wood and were very disappointed.

Manager's Response

We want to extend our apologies to this renter for any inconveniences they encountered during their stay. It is our priority to try to give each guest a wonderful experience! We do not accept keeping stained sheets in our rentals and have taken care of them. The fireplace that was on the deck had broken and has now been replaced. We are very sorry again for any inconveniences this guest encountered! The owners have also added a dishwasher! :)

A Memorable Week on Whidbey

August 2014
, United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

We had kids ages 7-15 with us, so separate downstairs sleeping/bath area was great. House was clean, ready to use. One caution: any beach use requires wearing water shoes, as it's rocky and full of barnacles. Wearing them allowed for good swimming, tidelands exploration, playing and walking.One idea for a day trip: take Keystone ferry to Pt.Townsend and visit Marine Science Center at Ft.Worden. There's no fireplace on deck as photos show.

Manager's Response

The fireplace on the deck has been replaced. Unfortunately it was broken during this guests stay and our apologies go out to them!

Whidbey Island vacation.

July 2014
, Arcadia, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
3

First time on Whidbey Island. The location of this cottage is perfect, close to ferry and easy to find.
We had a great time digging for clams and playing in the water. Beautiful view of bay and perfect weather in the summer.
The cottage itself needs some TLC. The property management was professional and friendly, easy to work with, they sent someone out right away to repair a panel in the bathroom.

Manager's Response

The owner has been working on some updating the past few months and the home is looking beautiful!

Relaxing!!!

July 2014
, Walnut Creek, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We loved our stay at 5213 Bercot. The house had ample room for my family. The boys loved having the entire downstairs to themselves while my wife, daughter and myself used the two upstairs bedrooms. The kitchen was fully stocked with utensils, pots, plates, glasses, etc. You couldn't ask for a better view of the fireworks from the deck. The seal lions and eagles were regular visitors right outside our door, not to mention the deer that roamed the area. My sister in law lives down the street so the location was perfect for our family get-togethers. I would love to rent that house again.

Love the beach filled with shells

August 2013
, Lake Charles, LA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

Our second time on Whidbey, and the location was well chosen. Close enough to Langley to shop and eat, yet not too far from Coupeville and other island towns. We did not go to Deception Pass as we had been there once before. Especially enjoyed hiking in South Whidbey State Park, where some could hike down to the beach and others do the full hike though the park. As I had read in other reviews, the 3rd bedroom, down on ground level, has a separate entrance which might be desirable for some renters, but we did not use that bedroom because it did not connect w/ the rest of house. Lovely views from inside and deck, and our 5 year old granddaughter enjoyed the little beach and picking up shells.

Beautiful Vacation Home

August 2013
, Wooster, OH United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

It is a charming house in a lovely location. Kitchen is well-stocked compared to some. We would stay there again.

awesome

July 2013
, North Bend, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

3 generations on vacation together, salmon surf fishing was great, early morning and late evenings on the deck were my favorite times. didn't have cable tv, that was okay, lots of conversation, played games, watched movies, digging clams with grandchildren, swimming and fishing on Goss Lake. Only drawback, the day we went to Langley, Tuesday, the shops were all closed. If we had inquired would have visited another day. The best vacation ever!!!! Thank you, will book again next year

Excellent Vaction Location

July 2013
, Calgary, AB Canada

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
4

I was very impressed with the rental property.
The fitted sheet on the master bed could fit snugger as it had a tendency to move about. Not a real problem though. Kitchen very well provided with all the necessities. WiFi was a blessing for the kids toys, games etc.
Would rent again if the need arose. Tara Vaction Rental found to provide excellent service.

Peaceful

June 2013
, Nashville, TN United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We loved this beach cottage; it was the perfect "get away from it all" location to relax and enjoy the scenery.

Los of fun with water to kayak and good view

September 2012
, Hebo, OR United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

Pretty good over all-just needed a dish washer-too much time of vacation spent in washing dishes. No kitchen ammenities like blenders mixers and absolutly no large serving bowels which we very much needed. Have been in other rentals and expected to fully stocked with hand soap dish soap laundry soap and only enough for hardly one evening and had to keep going to the store cause kept running out of these things.

Rental cottage on Whidbey Island

August 2012
, Bellevue, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Great location with many interesting places around. Kids loved the little beach. Nice, big kitchen for cooking.

Summer stay at the cottage

September 2012
, Seattle, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
3

We had a great stay at the cottage although the kitchen equipment needs some serious updating. Pans and pots are in bad condition and a dishwasher seems to be a good investment.
The location is perfect especially for families.

Charming and relaxing on the Water

August 2012
, Dallas, TX United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Loved the location and waterfront! Great house with fabulous view from deck or windows. Tons Of great shells and rocks on the beach early in the morning.

A few suggestions and comments:

August 2012
, Puyallup, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
4

We were concerned because there were no railings going down from the parking area and none going up to the front door. the stairway going off the deck and into the basement was not completed. The frying pans were in very bad condition. One of the people that work for you was nice enough to bring over dish towels and a pan to wash the dishes.

More time at this home

August 2012
, Coulee City, WA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
5

This was a wonderful experience for my family. Overall, we were very satisfied, the property was in very satisfactory condition, the location was perfect, the property was very clean, and Karen was very professional with a lot of heart as well. We will stay here again. The only problem was that we did not have enough time to spend at the home as we had a family reunion and family emergency while staying. The house was, however, a welcome and relaxing place to go when we could.

Bercot Beach

August 2011
, Temperance, MI United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Since we did not really have a view of the property we were renting, the trip out was filled with some nervousness. However, that all changed when we got there. Not only was the scenery beautiful, the neighborhood was clean and quiet!! The accommodations were bigger than we had expected. The next time we go to Washington, we are definitely calling Tara Properties first!!

Wonderful weekend!

September 2011
, renton, Wa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We had a fabulous time at the Bercot Beach Cottage. We loved that we had access to the water right from our back yard (bring water shoes though as it's very rocky, not sandy). My boys LOVED the hammock and we all loved the view. Loved that the fully equipped kitchen was open to the living room so we could catch while we cooked.

Great Whidbey Island stay

August 2011
, United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

Very convenient to a great grocery, restaurant & the Clinton ferry.

Relaxing beauty....

August 2011
, Napa, CA United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

My husband & I with longtime good friends, arrived at Bercot Cottage in the late afternoon. We fell in love with it almost immediately. It is cozy, comfortable and picturesque. We felt like guests in a friend's home. The cottage was clean and well stocked
with necessities. A small problem with a partially plugged toilet finally resolved itself the day before we left. A plumber would have been helpful. The views from the livingroom and the deck of the tidal action and the boats at anchor was very tranquil. The
town of Freeland has a large grocery & hardware store only 5 minutes drive away. Exploring Whidbey Island was relaxing. Seabolts Deli in Oak Harbor provided us with fresh seafood. Bring DVD's or VHS tapes if you wish to watch TV as there is no TV signal. We
hope to be able to stay at Bercot Cottage again for a relaxing vacation.

Awesome home to relax at for a weeks. Loved walking the beach. Quaint little town.

June 2011
, Cape Coral, fl United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

bercot beach/holmes harbor house

May 2011
, Bellevue, WA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great location and comfy house. wish I had read that the third bedroom was downstairs with outside access only, no window coverings and very low ceilings. Dishes needed to be washed before using, no dishwasher. Beds ok, but with divot in master, good sofabed. Amazing deck with nice outdoor fireplace and nice rocky beach. Good kitchen spaces, good appliances, cabinets to full to store food. Bought our own TP as there was only 1/2 a roll. Might stay again with different family members. Not a great fit for 8 people.

April 2011
, Maple Ridge, BC Canada

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
3
Location
5
Property condition
4

Great location. Everything works easily, made a relaxing stay. Could have been cleaner though.

Great Beach House

September 2010
, Snuqualmie, Wa United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
4
Cleanliness
4
Location
5
Property condition
4

We really enjoyed staying at this beach house, it had great views and was very cozy. We were surprised to learn that the basement was detached from the upstairs... you have to walk around outside to get to it and there are no window coverings. We think this should have been included in the description. Other than that, we enjoyed our stay.

Great first time

September 2010
, Lead, South Dakota United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
3
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

This was our first time for vac rental, everything we needed was there at the house from roasting marshmellow forks,binoculars,wood for fire places, kitchen ware to toilet paper etc.
Bad parts were the BIG BIG spiders in the basement bed room, needs to be debugged, and the main floor creeks terrible when people walk on it and your
trying to sleep below. Other wise we enjoyed are stay.

Satisfied Guest!

August 2010
, Demoins, Wa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

We loved location and the home.the only thing that we didnt like was the fact that the telivision equipment was out dated,could even get local news

September 2010
, Haysvillie, KAnsas United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
3

August 2010
, South Pasadena, CA United States

Overall
4
Services from rental manager
2
Cleanliness
4
Location
4
Property condition
3

July 2010
, Lake Stevens, Wa United States

Overall
5
Services from rental manager
5
Cleanliness
5
Location
5
Property condition
5

We were celebrating our mother's 86th birthday and she had a wonderful time. The house is comfortable, the view is phenomenal, the location is central to so many lovely sights.

We all love to cook and it was a well-equiped kitchen which you rarely find in a vacation rental.

Thank you for the lovely memories.