Book by phone: +1 (866) 331-0129

209 - Beachfront Mutiny Bay Cabin

Guest Rating:

Vacation rental cabin / bungalow. Sleeps 4, 1 bedroom, 1 bathroom. No pets allowed.

Freeland, WA 98249 United States

JUST OPENED 2017 SUMMER CALENDAR! HURRY AND BOOK NOW! Newly remodeled 1950's waterfront 1 bedroom, 1 bath cabin just steps from the sugar sands of Mutiny Bay. This is the perfect "getaway" cabin for 2 to 4 people, with breathtaking westerly 180 degree views of the Olympic Mountains and shipping lanes. Sit on this beautiful deck and soak in the sun and views, have a barbeque, or take just a few steps to the sand for lots of beach fun. While indoors, enjoy the modern comfort with a classic rustic feel. This is the perfect cabin for a romantic getaway, salmon fishing, or for bringing the kids for a family vacation. The bedroom has a queen bed and the living room adds two pull out couches to sleep up to 2 more. The kitchen features all the cookware you will need for cooking. If you can peel yourself away from the wonderful beach, enjoy the convenience of shopping and restaurants less than 5 minutes away in downtown Freeland, or visit the seaside town of Langley only a few minutes more. 7 night minimum in July/August.
This home does not have a working wood stove.

Rooms and Amenities
Property Type Cabin / Bungalow, 1 story, Built in 1950
Unit Code 209
Beds 1 queen bed, 2 sleeper sofas
Bathrooms 1 bathroom
Rooms Sleeps 4, 4 dining seats
Floor Area 607 square feet
Pets No pets allowed.
Living No working fireplace, WIndow Coverings, Floor Coverings
Business Downtown Coupeville, Downtown Freeland, Downtown Langley, Greenbank Farms, Nearby Post Office, Nearby Public Golf Course, Sno-Isle Library, Downtown Oak Harbor
Kitchen Blender, Coffee Maker, Cookware, Crockpot, Microwave, Range, Refrigerator, Toaster, oven
Entertainment Board Games, Cable, CD Player, DVD Player, High Speed Wireless Internet, TV
Outdoor Boat Launch Nearby, Boating, Deck(s), Fort Ebey State Park, Ft. Casey State Park, Great Beach for walking & picnic, Propane BBQ, Swimming, hiking, fishing, Outdoor table and chairs
Family Park, Playground, Comm. Park w/playground nearby
Convenience Clinton Ferry, Keystone Ferry, Nearby Grocery
Culture Art Galleries, Historical Sights, Near Restaurants
Geographic No Bank Sandy Waterfront, Private beach access, Sandy Level Beach Waterfront, View home
Average Manager Rating (Based on 1344 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Services from rental manager
Average Vacation Rental Rating (Based on 31 reviews)

Overall satisfaction

Cleanliness

Location

Property condition
100 % of our reviewers would recommend this vacation rental.

Vacation Rental Reviews

  • Cute 50's style cabin

    Stayed 87 days ending in October, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Priscilla C from Chandler, AZ recommends this vacation rental

    Stayed 4 months this past summer. I love the water,so it was fun watching the ships go by. There has been quite a bit of wear and tear in and outside. The neighbors told me that at one time they counted twenty people there. The people set up tents in front and back yards. There is a crumbling retaining wall, The deck needs staining again. And a new large comfortable sleeper couch.

    • Manager Responded on 10/17/2016

      Thank you for your review. To clarify, we do not allow more than 5 people max. The incident described was a one time issue when guests abused the contract. For future guests, our office staff is available at all times to help make your stay great and we try to ensure the homes are ready and waiting for you to have a nice and enjoyable stay.

  •  
  • Kayaking spring break

    Stayed 2 days ending in April, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Tacoma, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We loved this place! We spent most of our time here, but one afternoon visited Fort Casey. The house description was accurate. It was quite clean. Outdated, but clean. It's actually charming. It's well maintained with a very nice porch, but the "retaining wall" from the yard to the beach is a crumbling, eroding mess of concrete. However we were able to get our kayaks to the beach and our kids didn't hurt themselves, so it's do-able. 's RIGHT on the beach! They had 5 adarondak chairs plus outdoor patio table with umbrella and 4 chairs, croquet set, beach towels, beach blanket, hairdryer, plenty of towels and warm blankets, decent pillows, every kitchen item you'd need, an iHome with iPhone 4 docking, games, cards, a few books, and even a comfy bed. The pullout is NOT comfy, but our kids used it and they're small and sleep on anything! You can also do fires on the beach or if it's in season you could set out some crab pots and have crab for dinner. FYI, someone is building next door and we were lucky they were on hold for the week so we didn't here any banging or sawing. Every time I had a question or concern I had an email back that very day from the management which was always helpful and professional. It's location is super close to a great grocery store, but not in a busy part of the island. You definitely feel like you're on an island. It's great. Highly recommend it!

    • Manager Responded on 5/12/2016

      Thank you for bringing the retaining wall to our attention. The owner is aware of the damage and has been taking measures to get things back in order. Thank you for your helpful comments. We appreciate your review!

  •  
  • Sunsets on Whidbey's West Side

    Stayed 2 days ending in February, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    Our rental cabin was located just feet from a sandy beach and with a 180 degree view of the Olympics. The rental was cozy, supplied with all we needed for our stay. The location is perfect for day trips to Ebey's Landing, South Whidbey State Park and Fort Casey. Excellent rental experience.

    • Manager Responded on 5/12/2016

      We're glad you enjoyed your stay! Thanks for your review!

  •  
  • 209 Beachfront Mutiny Bay Cabin

    Stayed 5 days ending in February, 2016

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    We stayed Feb. 4th thru 9th 2016
    Great experience! Very nice clean cabin approximately 60ft. from the water. Beautiful sunrises & sunsets. Great view of the Olympic mountains and the shipping lanes.
    The cabin has 1 smoke detector in the bedroom but NEEDS an additional smoke detector and a carbon monoxide detector outside of the separate sleeping area.(NFPA 70)
    I informed Tara property management about this so it should be corrected for the next occupants. We will definitely stay again at this property!!

    • Manager Responded on 2/11/2016

      Thank you Rebecca, The owner has already purchased a combination smoke alarm and CO2 detector which he will be installing shortly. So glad you enjoyed the home!

  •  
  • 209 Beachfront Mutiny

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    mike m from seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    $100 per night is actually $170 per night. VRBO needs to be honest in how they advertise by rates. Be ready for a 7 page legal document isolating the renter and property management company from you. There is a picture of a fireplace in the Cabin advertisement. One of the multitude of signs inside this cabin says the fireplace is "broken." Not sure how you break a fireplace but the sign had been there for a long time.

    • Manager Responded on 12/28/2015

      We are indeed sorry that this renter was disappointed with his stay. We strive for customer satisfaction. All fees are shown "upfront" in the quotes sent out from VRBO and other companies that advertise on our behalf. There is one price for rent (which in this case is $100 per night for a beachfront cabin), and then taxes of course and a cleaning and reservation fee. Our standard contract is just over 2 pages and serves to protect both the renter and the home owner. It is a pretty standard document. The wood stove in this home was disconnected some years ago for safety reasons. The owner has chosen to leave the stove as moving it would cause some construction issues; but it clearly states in both the amenities and on the overview as well as the check in packet that the stove is not functioning. There is also a sign on the stove indicating that it is not functional. We will see about removing the stove from the pictures, but for now we hope people will read the descriptions carefully and ask us any and all questions before or during the booking process. We hope that most renters will enjoy the ambiance of this delightful little cabin and appreciate the great price for waterfront property on Whidbey.

  •  
  • Freeland/Mutiny Bay Vacation

    Stayed 7 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Albuquerque, NM recommends this vacation rental

    The cabin was very comfortable to stay in. I was surprised that the lawn was not mowed prior to a guest coming in. I had issues with ants, but looking through the drawers found some traps to use along with spray found under the sink.

  •  
  • Small but cute.

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    WEs B from Goldendale, Wa recommends this vacation rental

    Small but cute. Great beach. Kitchen well supplied with tools. Clean but could have used the lawn mowed. Neighbors very friendly. Great for a couples romantic stay, or a couple guys fishing trip. Zero bank beach access with boat launch near by. Enjoy.

  •  
  • AWESOME 80th Birthday Present for my MOM!

    Stayed 5 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Park Rapids, Minnesota recommends this vacation rental

    A bigger bar of soap for the shower would have been nice but what an awesome place with a breathtaking view of Mutiny Bay & the Olympic Mountains!

    • Manager Responded on 10/28/2015

      We have upgraded our bar soap :) Thank you for your feedback!

  •  
  • Nice little cottage

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ann K from San Francisco, CA recommends this vacation rental

    This was the perfect spot for our family to set up base camp for a five-day visit to Whidbey. Our friends have a larger place nearby, so we spent most of the our time socializing at their home, but this little cottage was a nice place to come "home" to in the evenings or when we wanted some quiet time.

  •  
  • Beautiful view

    Stayed 3 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Milaine C from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    The view cannot be beat and the beach is steps away. The cabin is quaint and while small is perfect for a small group. The kitchen is well equipped with anything needed for cooking.

  •  
  • Delightful Destination

    Stayed 27 days ending in August, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Priscilla C from Chandler, AZ recommends this vacation rental

    I thoroughly enjoyed my 2months stay in the Mutiny Bay cabin. The stores in the town of Freeland, had everything I needed. It was fun to drive the length of the island, stopping at darling towns, and enjoying a bite to eat at the many diversified restaurants. Best part of all ---relaxing on a great deck just steps from the beach and water,watching the ships go through the shipping lanes. GREAT!

  •  
  • Cute as a button!

    Stayed 32 days ending in July, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Priscilla C from Chandler, AZ recommends this vacation rental

    Excellent, so far! Still have the rest of July to go.

  •  
  • great time!

    Stayed 2 days ending in May, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Deanna M from Shoreline, Washington recommends this vacation rental

    relaxing time at the beach

  •  
  • A fine facility for the price

    Stayed 7 days ending in April, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Richard S from Camano Island, WA recommends this vacation rental

    The owners description, coupled with pictures, adequately presents this vacation Getaway. We had no issues in settling into the facility and spending a full week of relaxation. Yes, as mentioned below the fireplace is out of service at this time, but we also found that the heaters more than adequately kept the cabin very toasty and comfortable. We found no ant problem or any other critters. The owners and the property manager were very accommodating to our needs. We would love to go back.

  •  
  • Clean, comfortable and a great location!

    Stayed 3 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Sarah D from Chehalis, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We were very happy with our stay at the Mutiny Bay cabin. We had everything we needed there and it was so close to the beach. We, along with our kids had a great time!

  •  
  • Mutiny Bay Cabin

    Stayed 4 days ending in March, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Austin, TX recommends this vacation rental

    The cabin is small, quiet and quaint. We had a great time on the island and the views are amazing. However, the neighbor kept letting their dogs run through the yard. My wife and I were on the porch and one of the dogs continually tried to make love to my wife's leg. I have dogs and can understand if this happened once, but the dogs kept coming back. Jasper is the dog's name and I know this because in a feeble attempt to collect the dogs from the yard, their owner kept saying in a muted tone "Jasper, c'mon now" over and over to no avail. Do you know what can ruin a serene beach scene, obnoxious dogs and their inattentive or caring owners.

    • Manager Responded on 10/28/2015

      There is another vacation rental next to this rental. We have not had a problem with neighboring dogs other than this, so we believe this was another vacationer staying next door. Our apologies go out to this guest for that inconvenience!

  •  
  • Mutiny Bay Hide away!

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Margaret M from Redmond, WA recommends this vacation rental

    The cabin was just as described, right on the beach, with easy access. It was well equipped with all the necessary cooking implements and everything you needed. I loved the comfortable ambiance of the cabin and will rent it again in the future.

  •  
  • Just right

    Stayed 3 days ending in February, 2015

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Ryan T from Chilliwack, BC recommends this vacation rental

    This little cabin on the beach was exactly what we hoped it would be. Great location, very clean, well equipped and well priced. Just the right balance between what you need and what you want in a small vacation location. Would recommend this place to anyone but bring your rubber boots. The yard between the driveway and the back door can get quite swampy with just a bit of rain. Not a big deal when all things considered.

    • Manager Responded on 10/28/2015

      The back yard can get very wet when we get a lot of rain. The owner is working on a pathway to walk. This has only been a problem in the wet winter months when we get a lot of rainfall.

  •  
  • delightful cabin by the shore

    Stayed 2 days ending in December, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Mark B from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    my wife and I had a wonderful time at the Mutiny Bay cabin! It was exactly as described, but even more comfy than we expected. The perfect little spot for a weekend getaway

  •  
  • Great stay at Mutiny Bay

    Stayed 2 days ending in November, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dale D recommends this vacation rental

    Had a great stay at this cute, little cabin on the water. Very clean, well kept. Beautiful view of the water and mountains. Exactly how it was described. Would recommend to others (in fact we did recommend to an employee at Greenbank Grocery/Deli for a family retreat). Very close to Freeland and Langley for great shopping and eating. Didn't really want to leave the cabin though!! On a beautiful sandy beach.

  •  
  • Perfect!

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    This little cottage was perfect for a weekend away for my boyfriend and I. Very clean and cozy. Great location--the beach is beautiful, and you're only a few miles away from a grocery store, parks, hiking, etc. It might get a little tight if you plan on sleeping more people, but for 2 it's a great little house! I highly recommend it.

  •  
  • Perfect!

    Stayed 3 days ending in September, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    This is a great little rental, perfect for a couple. Right on the beach... easy access to all of Whidbey Island. There's a grocery store less than 5 minutes away. Did I say it's right on the beach?

  •  
  • Nice Little House on the Beach

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Georgia W from Sammamish, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We very much enjoyed our beach time and cozy stay at this Mutiny Bay cabin. We cooked some lovely meals and we were very comfortable both inside and outside of this well situated gem of a getaway. We really hope to make going back an annual thing! Only tiny complaint was that the BBQ was not in working order.

    • Manager Responded on 10/28/2015

      The BBQ has been repaired :)

  •  
  • Cute little cabin on the beach

    Stayed 2 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest recommends this vacation rental

    We loved the cabin and our stay was very nice. The cabin was clean and had everything we needed. The weather was perfect and the view is stunning! It was a little hard to find, we thought a sign on the road would help. Bigger bed would have been nice.

    • Manager Responded on 10/28/2015

      Property management has added better driving instructions to the check in packet :) Our apologies to this guest for their inconvenience!

  •  
  • Sweet family vacation

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Amye H from Seattle, WA recommends this vacation rental

    Our family had an awesome time! Mutiny bay is gorgeous and it was more fun than we anticipated being able to see the ships in the shipping lanes go by. The cabin is cute and was perfect for our needs. Being right on the beach is key with small kids. No need to pack up and drive anywhere!

  •  
  • Cozy Beach Cabin

    Stayed 5 days ending in August, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Redmond, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time at the Mutiny Bay cabin! We loved the puzzles, games and outside furniture and toys. The bed was comfortable. We loved the central location to both south and north Whidbey. Our kids enjoyed time in the water, swimming, beach combing and such. The house was in good condition and was clean. I would have enjoyed some more windows that open for warm days and/or a screen for the beach front door to have airflow, but limit bugs. If I could have changed anything, it would have been the yellow jackets/wasps. It seemed there may have been a nest in the lawn as we sometimes saw them going into lawn holes.

  •  
  • 209 beach front mutiny bay Rd beach house

    Stayed 5 days ending in July, 2014

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Bobby T from Henderson, TX recommends this vacation rental

    Had a great vacation and sons wedding, property was in a good location and very clean. Tara staff very helpful, close to shopping and restaurants and grocery's, island locals very friendly. Also beach house very well equipped with dishes and cooking pans and BBQ, the view of water and passing cruise ships and local boats breathtaking, thanks Tara!!

  •  
  • Mutiny Bay Getaway for two

    Stayed 4 days ending in November, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Barbara A S recommends this vacation rental

    We had a delightful 4 days on Mutiny Bay, in this cute little beach home. The weather cooperated for this time of year, and we had several peaceful walks on the beach. We summered very near this home as children, and after nearly 50 years of traveling, we have decided to retire on Whidbey Island.

  •  
  • Mutiny Bay rental

    Stayed 2 days ending in October, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Heather E from Olympia , WA recommends this vacation rental

    We made the decision to stay the weekend on Whidbey Island this past weekend as it was the two-year anniversary of my dad's passing in 2011. My dad always loved Whidbey Island, particularly the Mutiny Bay and Useless Bay area, south Whidbey Island. The house was perfect, clean, and had all the right amenities. We have no complaints and would definitely stay there again!

  •  
  • Mutiny Bay Cabin

    Stayed 4 days ending in August, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    a guest from Seatac, WA recommends this vacation rental

    would stay again at this location

  •  
  • Great cabin, great location.

    Stayed 2 days ending in July, 2013

    • Services from rental manager
    • Cleanliness
    • Location
    • Property condition

    Overall satisfaction:

    Dustin U from Bothell, WA recommends this vacation rental

    We had a great time playing on the sandy beach. We watched ships go by, bald eagles, deer and beautiful sunsets. The cabin was just the right size and was well appointed and clean. We thought a griddle would be a welcome addition to the kitchen, but we really had everything we needed. This cabin is a gem and we will be back.

  •  
Getting your rate Getting your rate...
1. Select Your Dates to Check Availability

Click calendar to set checkin/checkout dates. clear calendar

 Unavailable  Selected  Available  Checkin only  Checkout only
2. Review Dates and Rates

Select/Confirm the number of travelers to get a rate quote.

: :
Base Rent:
Fees & Taxes:*
Total Price:
:
:
*Click 'Continue Booking' to view details of fees & taxes

Seasonal Rental Rates for this Vacation Rental

Dates Daily Weekly Monthly Minimum Stay Checkin Restrictions
Jun 16, 2017-Jun 30, 2017 $205 $1,290 na 2 No restrictions
Jul 1, 2017-Sep 3, 2017 $165 $1,155 na 4 No restrictions
Sep 4, 2017-Sep 30, 2017 $135 $810 na 2 No restrictions
Oct 1, 2017-Oct 31, 2017 $125 $750 na 2 No restrictions
Nov 1, 2017-Nov 21, 2017 $100 $600 na 2 No restrictions
Nov 22, 2017-Nov 25, 2017 $125 na na 3 No restrictions
Nov 26, 2017-Dec 21, 2017 $100 $600 na 2 No restrictions
Dec 22, 2017-Jan 1, 2018 $125 $750 na 3 No restrictions

*Seasonal rates are estimates only. Actual rates may differ. Seasonal rates do not include fees or taxes.

To request information about booking this vacation rental, please fill out the form below.


Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!

Sorry, we encountered the following error(s):

  • Unable to process request.
loading Sending Email...
Your email has been sent successfully!
47.999041,-122.545162

Tara Vacation Rentals P.O. Box 383 Freeland, WA 98249-0383 +1 (866) 331-0129 tarapm@whidbeyislandrentals.com

© 1999 - 2017 | Powered By Escapia Vacation Rental Software | Terms of Use

Logon